Hola!

My district is great. We have great elders. Granted sometimes they still act like 18 year old boys but for the most part they are focused on learning and teaching. We love to sing as a district, but sometimes we fail at singing miserably. At one point we had an older district in the room next to us and we were talking with the hermanas from that district about if they could hear us failing at singing. They were like yes and then told us that it was remarked that sometimes we sound worse than the latinos. It was pretty funny. The latinos arent all bad singers but some of them have not ever really heard the true tune of the song and they just sing it how they want.
The new latinas are nice. They are more pushy with us about speaking spanish. than the old ones. If they hear us speaking english at dinner they tell us NO INGLES and then make us speak spanish to them. The first couple of days they didn’t get the memo that they needed to talk slower for us. BOY DID THEY TALK FAST: I came out of that dinner feeling exhausted from trying to understand spanish at the speed of light.
We have to memorize a lot of different missionary things in spanish. As a district we had to memorize both of the invitaions to baptism. If we missed a word we had to run a lap during deportes. We ended up having to run 15 laps. We also had to memorize Doctrine and Covenants 4,

“Now behold, a marvelous work is about to come forth among the children of men. Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day. Therefore, if ye have desires to serve God ye are called to the work; for behold the field is white already to harvest; and lo, he that thrusteth in his sickle with his might, the same layeth up in store that he perisheth not, but bright salvation to his soul; And faith, hope, charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God, qualify him for the work. Remember faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, brotherly kindness, godliness, charity, humility, diligence. Ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. Amen. ”

but we all got that one perfect so we didn’t have to run any for that. I also memorized the first vision one morning during language study and I was so gald I did. That day, a teacher that looks like Pedro from Napoleon Dynamite made me recite the first vision to get into the computer lab.
I learned a very important lesson about the spirit this week. It was an off day and everyone was super tired and dragging and just not normal. Hermana Bernal and I were trying to plan our lesson for one of our investigators and we were just struggling. We struggled for like 30 min before we decided to set it down for a while and take a walk. While we were walking, we realized we hadn’t prayed. It was like DUH that’s why nothing is working. So then we went inside, prayed, and we had our lesson planned within 10 minutes. The spirit is so important. This is God´s work and we need to involve Him and do it His way.
I continue to dominate in volleyball. But I’m also sometimes a danger. I’ve hit many elders in the head with a volleyball. Its bad. On Tuesday, Presidente Cox played volleyball with us! It was so fun! I was so glad that he played with us because the first time he played volleyball with us it was raining and the Hermanas aren’t aloud to be oustide during deportes while its raining. We have to do stuff in the gym. So I’ve run on the eliptical quite a bit this week because it has rained alot.
It is alwasy so cold in our classrooms. It is this constant battle between the elders and the Hermanas. I’ve started bringing a blanket down to class. Both of my teachers were like Hermana Gunderson what are you doing? But they let me keep it so I can be warm while I learn spanish and the gospel. Its in those moments that I can’t wait for the ‘mucho calor’ of Reu. Im sure though I’ll miss the cold at some point. But not now.
Here are some gospel things that Ive learned this week:
-One of the elders said in our district class on Sunday that the scriptures are little love notes from Heavenly Father. I love that and think its so true. When I read the scriptures I feel the love of my Heavenly Father and I find verses that bring me comfort and strength.
-In the CCM, all the Hermanas are good at comforting and supporting one another because we all understand somewhat what everyone else is going through and that gives us strength. I thought of the atonement and how much better our Savior understands everythiong we go thorugh and the immense comfort and strength it brings us.
Fun facts
-I wrote a cover of Do you wanna build a snowman? to teach the first discussion. It’s pretty amazing. Now I just have to translate it to spanish.
-we had visits from Elder Alonzo and Elder Steven R Snow of the seventy.
In closing, I want to leave you with the words of Presidente Cox. He said that we should wake up every morning and yell FIRE UP to ourselves in the mirror to get ourselves ready for the day and to serve the Lord. We should always be excited to serve the Lord and to do missionary work! FIRE UP!!

